Our curriculum is the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. This is a play-based curriculum for
children from birth to 5 years, which allows children to explore and learn in an environment that is
secure and safe yet challenging. Play opportunities are non-stereotypical and available to all children
promoting the teaching and learning from a skilled workforce.
Within the EYFS Framework, teachers provide activities and make assessments judgements based
on the seven areas of learning:

3 Prime areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


4 Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Whilst all learning areas are important and inter-connected, the 3 Prime areas are crucial for igniting
children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, building their capacity to learn and form relationships
and thrive. The Specific areas will enable children to be self-motivated learners who are confident to